Gun laws are one of the mostly hotly contested topics in the legal spectrum today. Each state has their own gun laws, and in fact, many municipalities have laws in addition to those in place by their state. Ostensibly in place to protect the citizens of this country, the furor over gun control issues has often become so heated that it has erupted into violence. While nobody wants to be shot, it is up for grabs whether more or less gun control is needed in order to prevent shootings. Many of the laws are in place to help prevent children from gaining access to guns. Others are in place to prevent violent offenders from getting their hands on a gun. This is why most places require a license in order to carry a handgun. |
Not unlike most laws in this country though, there are those that break them. At any given time, there are many, many people carrying unlicensed handguns. Some keep them in their cars, for fear of being carjacked in a bad neighborhood. Some people carry them, as protection from potential muggers. Whatever your reason for packing a gun, if it is unlicensed, there are some very stiff penalties that you could face, should you be caught. Ranging from fines to jail time, each state and again, many municipalities, have enacted laws and accompanying penalties to dissuade citizens from carrying unlicensed guns.
In New York City, the penalty for carrying an unlicensed handgun is jail time. The minimum sentence is 3.5 years, and the maximum sentence is 15. Just for carrying an unlicensed gun. This is not for shooting someone or even just discharging your weapon, this is for carrying it. Florida on the other hand is slightly more lenient. If you are caught carrying an unlicensed, concealed firearm, you are charged with a 3rd degree felony, which carries with it a maximum fine of $5000 and a maximum sentence of 5 years in prison.
If you own a gun, or are considering buying a gun, it is highly advisable that you learn all about the gun control laws in your state and municipality. With laws varying so widely, it is never enough to assume. If you plan to travel form your state with a weapon, it is also imperative that you familiarize yourself with the laws of wherever you may be visiting. The last thing that you would want to do is wind up in jail for 15 years because you were ignorant. Gun laws are in place to protect citizens, but if you have been charged with an unlicensed handgun, you should call a New Jersey gun crime attorney at Clark & Clark. Their New Jersey criminal defense attorneys will provide you with a free consultation and discuss your legal options.
Related Articles -
unlicensed handguns, gun charges, concealed weapon, criminal defense lawyer, attorney, new jersey,