Texting while driving is classified as a form of distracted driving. In recent years, many accidents have occurred due to drivers being distracted while texting. As of October 1st, a new law has gone into effect in the state of Florida prohibiting texting while driving. While well intentioned, this new law is rather limited. Distracted driving is considered a “secondary offense”, which means that a driver cannot be stopped for a moving violation, but could be ticketed for texting if stopped for a different infraction, such as speeding and the officer observed the texting or the driver admits to it. |
The new law states that a driver may not operate a motor vehicle while typing or entering multiple letters, numbers or other characters into an electronic device. The law includes typing while sending data as well as reading data on a device and includes all forms of communication, be it texting, emailing and instant messaging. The law does not ban the use of a cellular phone as a navigation device, so using your phone’s GPS to guide you while driving is, in fact, legal. While the driver cannot communicate while driving, the law permits texting while the vehicle is stopped at a stop light, stop sign or stationary during traffic. Drivers also would not be fined if using the device for reporting emergencies or criminal activity to law enforcement. The law does not apply to law enforcement officers and emergency personnel.
Orlando Accident AttorneyTexting while driving is an infraction similar to other traffic violations in Florida. In most jurisdictions within the state, if stopped for a primary offense and found guilty of texting while driving, a fine will be imposed for the offense. A first offense is considered a non-moving violation and a fine of $30 plus court costs would be issued. Subsequent violations would endure more significant consequences, including a $60 fine plus additional court costs. A secondary offense is a moving violation and includes fines of up to $120 with a value of 3 points on your driver’s license. Other penalties would include six points on a driver’s license if the driver’s texting results in a crash and two extra points if the driver is texting while in a school safety zone.
If you are charged with a driving offense, it can be very beneficial to have an experienced attorney represent you in court. Your future driving privileges as well as your insurance rates can be negatively and significantly impacted by moving violations. Call your dependable motorcycle accident lawyers at 911 Biker Law at (855)-BIKER LAW and pursue legal aid in dealing with traffic tickets to get the best possible results.
Related Articles -
Ban on Texting While Driving Law, personal injury lawyer, personal injury lawyer in orlando,